About

We’re Cattlemen Too

The National Livestock Commission Association began doing business on September 15, 1931. At this time in our nation’s history, everyone was in the midst of the Great Depression. The primary objective of the new organization was to market livestock for its members. Any producer of livestock was eligible to become a member upon payment of $1 for one share of common stock. This purchase of stock provided each member “full privileges of membership without further payment of dues or assessments”.

On October 31, 1931, the commission contracted to buy the National Commission Company. It was the oldest firm on the Stockyards. In the early 1930’s, agricultural credit was all but gone. A three-fold disaster had occurred. The Great Depression combined with drought and crop surpluses caused agricultural credit to all but disappear. A full page ad for National appeared in the Oklahoma Livestock Market News on July 11, 1950. It offered livestock loans at 4.5%.

The long-established practice of selling livestock by “private treaty” eventually gave way to selling at public auction. Soon the Oklahoma National Stockyards became “The World’s Largest Stocker and Feeder Cattle Market.” Railroads had traditionally delivered livestock to the terminal markets in Oklahoma City.

Many of the original families who were pioneers of National are still actively involved as either customers or directors. This sense of service continues with the current staff, customers and board members of National.

Today, the National Livestock Commission Association continues as a leader at the Oklahoma National Stockyards. The National Livestock Credit Corporation serves 7 states in the Southern US. National has also evolved to add services at the Southern Oklahoma Livestock Auction, Superior Livestock Auction, and OKC West Livestock Market. The common thread of the National companies continues to be the pursuit of total customer satisfaction.

Many years ago, a director of National made the following comment. He said “I don’t think there’s any question that National will live and continue to serve the people, but possibly the organizations will serve them in some different respects. We already have seen some big changes and there will be more changes”. That certainly was a prophetic statement that continues to be accurate as the livestock business continues to change rapidly.

Meet The Team

National Livestock Commission Association

Marketing Division
David Lawson
Marketing Manager
dlawson@nationallivestock.com
405-823-2148
800-999-8998

Grazing Division
Scott McCornack
Grazing Manager
scottm@nationallivestock.com
405-664-1489
800-999-8998

Marketing Division
Kelli Conway
Controller
kconway@nationallivestock.com
800-999-8998

Marketing Division
Shelley Prater
Marketing Clerk
sprater@nationallivestock.com
800-999-8998

Grazing Division
Russell Wells
Inspector
rwells@nationallivestock.com
405-640-3791
800-999-8998

Grazing Division
Travis Reimer
Inspector
treimer@nationallivestock.com
405-620-2173
800-999-8998

Grazing Division
Jessica Webster
Grazing Coordinator
jwebster@nationallivestock.com
800-999-8998

Marketing Division/Grazing Division
Victoria Chapman
Marketing/Grazing Assistant
vchapman@nationallivestock.com
800-999-8998

National Livestock Credit Corporation

Finance Division
David Tague
VP / Credit Officer
dtague@nationallivestock.com
405-639-9109
800-310-0220

Finance Division
Chris Carroll
VP / Credit Officer
chrisc@nationallivestock.com
405-435-9010
800-310-0220

Finance Division
Debbie Wedel
Sr. Credit Analyst
dwedel@nationallivestock.com
800-310-0220

Finance Division
Kim Rushton
Credit Analyst
kimr@nationallivestock.com
800-310-0220

Finance Division
Mallory O’Campo
Credit Analyst
mmarcon@nationallivestock.com
800-310-0220

Finance Division
Donna Enns
Loan Document Specialist
denns@nationallivestock.com
800-310-0220

Finance Division
Kelley Maynard
Administrative Assistant
kmaynard@nationallivestock.com
800-310-0220

Finance Division
Scot Reeves
Field Inspector
sreeves@nationallivestock.com
580-421-7699

800-310-0220

Finance Division
David Oakman
Field Inspector
doakman@nationallivestock.com
405-826-0021800-310-0220

Finance Division
Jim White
Field Inspector
jwhite@nationallivestock.com
405-550-4281
800-310-0220

Finance Division
Monte DeBord
Field Inspector
monte@nationallivestock.com
405-258-3540
800-310-0220

Finance Division
Carrie White
Controller
cwhite@nationallivestock.com
800-310-0220

Finance Division
Trena Settler
Senior Accountant
tsettle@nationallivestock.com
800-310-0220

Administration
Kurtis Ward
Executive VP / General Counsel
kward@nationallivestock.com
405-474-0014
800-310-0220

Scholarships

National Livestock is proud to award annual scholarships to high school seniors and college students. At National, we believe investing in our youth is one of the best investments we can make.

Each year we award several general scholarships in the amount of $2,000 each and also a few veterinary medicine scholarships in the amount of $5,000 each. Students must be attending or planning to attend an accredited university and must be pursuing a degree in agriculture or a field related to agriculture.

Applicants must be a family member of a customer of the National Livestock Companies or must be recommended by a customer and must have a minimum GPA of 2.75.

Questions?

 Contact Debbie Wedel dwedel@nationallivestock.com